This is unpublished

The David J. Pierson, MD Award for Excellence in Education and Mentoring

Dr. David PiersonWe pride ourselves on the strong clinical teaching, career development, and mentoring faculty provide for our fellows.

This award was established to acknowledge those faculty who fellows feel are especially dedicated to their education and mentoring. The award is named for Dr. David J. Pierson who was a quintessential educator and mentor within the division for more than 35 years.

Dr. Pierson is a gifted clinician, superb teacher, prolific author, and an international leader in respiratory care. He was recruited to the University of Washington in 1976 to be the Medical Director of the Respiratory Care Department at Harborview Medical Center. For nearly 20 years, he ran the fellowship training program and was deeply involved in the career development of our fellows and junior faculty.

He was the Director of Clinical Education from 1983-1997 and led the Greater Seattle Area Chest Grand Rounds for decades.

He has an exceptional ability to explain his reasoning to residents and fellows when teaching at the bedside. He taught countless trainees during his 35 years as a clinician at Harborview Medical Center and continues to be revered within the Division as one of the best clinicians in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine. 

In recognition of his excellence in teaching and clinical care, he received the prestigious Marvin Turck Award for career achievement and education within the Department of Medicine. After dedicating nearly his entire academic career to the University of Washington, he retired from the Division in 2011 and is currently an Emeritus Professor of Medicine.

The third year class of Pulmonary and Critical Care fellows bestows the award each year having the full perspective of their training, from their clinical year through their research years and having had the opportunity to interact with all of our faculty. The class selects the individual who they believe contributed the most to their education and mentoring during their ACGME fellowship training.

Previous Awards

Year Awardee
2024 Pavan Bhatraju
2023 Ylinne Lynch
2022 Sam Rayner
2021 Bridget Collins
2020 Rosemary Adamson
2019 Siddhartha Kapnadak
2018 Başak Çoruh
2017 David Park
2016 Erik Swenson
2015 Mark Tonelli
2014 Joshua Benditt
2013 Jeffrey Edelman
2012 Moira Aitken


Lakshminarayan Fellow Fund Endowment Grants

Dr. S LakshminarayanThe Lakshminarayan Fellow Fund was established in 2006 to honor S. Lakshminarayan, MD for his generous support of the Division's fellows and fellowship program.

Funds from this endowment are meant to allow fellows to take advantage of unique opportunities in support of their research training and career advancement. Only requests for activities considered catalytic to a fellow's career will be considered. Appropriate requests include funding for participation in special advanced courses (e.g. Woods Hole Laboratory), participation in top-flight research meetings (e.g. Gordon Conference or Keystone Symposium), and mini-sabbaticals in outstanding laboratories.

In general, the Lakshminarayan Fellow Fund is not considered the appropriate mechanism used to fund travel to usual annual professional society meetings such as ACCP, SCCM, ERS, ATS, and Experimental Biology. Individuals may apply for funding if they believe there are extenuating circumstances. This fund will not provide support to attend board review or similar professional development activities.

Project applications should be for future activity and will be reviewed within 4 weeks of receipt.

Please send your proposals to for consideration by the review committee.

Proposals should be no more than 3 pages in length and include the following:

  • Description of proposed activities
  • Budget (not to exceed $3000)
  • Rationale for why this particular activity will be career enhancing
  • Letter of support from your mentor

Previous Awards

Year Awardee Project/Training/Opportunity
2024 Mira John, MD 2024 APCCMPD Annual Conference
2023 Whitney Kiker, MD Extracorporeal Life Support Organization (ELSO) International Pre-Conference Symposium: ECMO Management and Physiology. ELSO International Conference
2021 Neha Sathe, MD Thomas L. Petty Aspen Lung Conference
ARDS in the 21st Century: New Insights into Clinical and Mechanistic Heterogeneity


2020   Serena Barnhill, MD Development of an online mechanical ventilation curriculum
2020 Thomas Keller, MD Certificate Program in Patient Safety and Quality
2018 Sharukh Lokhandwala, MD        Certificate Program in Patient Safety and Quality
2018 Trevor Steinbach, MD Qualitative Study Exploring Effective Leadership Behaviors During Intensive Care Unit Crises
2017 Jon Keller, MD CAE Healthcare Patient Simulator Essentials Course and Healthcare Programming with Physiology Course    
2017 Eric Morrell, MD 2017 Keystone Symposia on Molecular and Cellular Biology focused on Single Cell Omics
2016 Luke Seaburg, MD ACCP Endobronchial Ultrasound Transbronchial Needle Aspiration (EBUS-TBNA) Training
2016 Kristina Rudd, MD NHLBI Implementation Science in Critical Care Workshop
2014 James Town, MD CHEST Training and Transitions Committee Work Group Meeting
2014 Bijan Ghassemieh, MD Tuberculosis Research Methods Course 
2013 Ann Long, MD UW Summer Seminar in Health Care Ethics
2013 Engi Attia, MD Risk factors associated with poorly reversible airflow obstruction among HIV-infected patients in Nairobi
2012 Peter Leary, MD MESA – Multi-Ethnic Study of Atherosclerosis Meeting
2012 Carmen Mikacenic, MD American Academy of Immunology Advanced Course in Immunology
2011 Monica Campo-Patino, MD Colombian Center for Tuberculosis Research University of Antioquia in Medellin, Colombia
2010 Christopher Seymour, MD Society of Academic Emergency Medicine Conference
2010 Shane O'Mahony, MD 51st Annual Short Course on Medical and Experimental Mammalian Genetics
2010 Shai Sathy, MD Fundamentals of Critical Care Ultrasound
2009 Bradford Glavan, MD University of Washington Summer Institute in Statistical Genetics
2009 Michelle Lin, PhD Keystone Symposia Joint Conferences:  The Macrophage: Intersection of Pathogenic and Protective Inflammation and Advances in Molecular Mechanisms of Atherosclerosis    
2009 Molly Billings, MD Western Group on Educational Affairs 
2009 William Ehlenbach, MD Training Course: Cognitive assessment of survivors of ALI/ARDS
2009 Sean Gill, PhD Matrix Metalloproteinase Gordon Research Conference
2009 Timothy Watkins, MD U.S. Critical Illness and Injury Trials Group Meeting
2009 Matthew Arentz, MD Kenya Medical Research Institute
2008 Carrie Chun, MD Western Group on Educational Affairs
2008 Lindy Klaff, MD International Consensus Conference on Intensive Care Medicine
2007 David Hotchkin, MD Respiratory Care Journal Conference
2007 Sean Kassim, PhD MMP Gordon Research Conference
2007 Cynthia Gries, MD European Respiratory Society School Course Series on Lung Transplantation